Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge December 4, 2019

wednesdaybloggingchallenge

The Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge is hosted by Long and Short Reviews.  This week’s topic is: book boyfriends or girlfriends.  

I’m not generally one of those people who fall hard for characters in novels, but sometimes it does happen.  More often than not, it’s with series characters, but there are those times when I can’t get enough of a side character.

One of my longest-standing crushes is on Drizzt Do’Urden, a dark elf with a conscience. I think it’s his continual battle against his dark nature that drew me to him at first.  But, as I’ve made my way through R. A. Salvatore’s work, the more complex his character has become.  He’s loyal, he’s honest, and he’s undeniably the best swordsman in all of Forgotten Realms.  What’s most interesting to me, however, is that Drizzt was created as a side character on the spur of the moment and has evolved into the author’s most loved and recognized character.

1_g-7NcjhvVteOq7tsSevvsw 

For anyone who is friends with me on Facebook (or in real life), this next one won’t be a surprise.  Geralt of Rivia, aka The Witcher.  Now, in my defense, it isn’t ALL about Henry Cavill, although I’m not going to lie, I love that boy.  I honestly got into this in the strangest way.  My husband is an avid gamer and loves these games.  So, when Netflix announced they were making a series based on the novels, I got excited.  So much so that I went and ordered the entire series from Book Depository. Oops?  But Geralt is a wonderfully conflicted character.  He’s got his own code of sorts that he tries to live by, but also knows that sometimes things happen.  In addition to being a Witcher and a total badass to boot, he’s funny, considerate, and strives to be the best guy he can be, even if that means he’s not exactly a good guy.

geralt-swordfight 

sigh… 

This last one might surprise you, however.  Maybe it’s because I’ve been listening to the audio of Twisted Twenty-Six or maybe it’s because I can relate so hard to the things she goes through, but I’m going to end this list with Stephanie Plum.  She’s got a crazy family, a wonderful boyfriend, a tempting possible second boyfriend, and friends that probably are better off as acquaintances.  The thing that I adore about Steph the most, however, is that she never gives up.  Doesn’t matter that she’s pretty sure she’s going to flop and screw up, she still goes out and does what needs doing.  Bonus: she has the world’s longest-living hamster, Rex.

tumblr_mb2k1droyh1r4bmr4o1_500 

I really am sad that they only made one movie.  Maybe some day?  Netflix, can you get on this?  I think we need a Plum series, STAT!

If I thought about this more, I could probably come up with a few others, but I’ll stop here.  Who are some of your book loves?  I’d love to know.

17 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge December 4, 2019

  1. Okay.. I’m so going to check out those two series. They keep coming up in my reading and I’m sure that’s a sign. re: Stephanie Plum. Funny story… I love the audio books and the reader. To read them in print? I don’t like them near as much. Did not know they had made a movie… I need to check it out.

    Like

    1. The Witcher is more dark fantasy, but really good. And I love R. A. Salvatore, he’s a true staple of the fantasy world. I hope you enjoy them both!

      I don’t mind reading them so much, but I love the lady they chose to narrate the audiobooks. She’s perfect! Yes – it stars Katherine Heigl as Stephanie and she does a pretty good job.

      Like

  2. A LOL for you … if you look at the upcoming topics for WWBC next year, one is about character names you can’t pronounce. You need to keep Drizzt Do’Urden for that one!! 😀

    I’m in the minority, re: the Plum series… I couldn’t make it through the first book. She annoyed me terribly. But, that’s just me because clearly she’s insanely popular!!

    I need to watch The Witcher … I keep looking at it, but haven’t gotten as far as hitting play.

    Like

    1. HAH! I love it. And man, that’s the worst part about reading fantasy novels – there are so many freaking names that I have no idea about.

      She definitely can be annoying, but the books are such good fun that I can put it aside, I guess.

      It actually doesn’t premier until 12/20, so you’re not out of the loop yet.

      Like

    1. Elves are the best! Same, I honestly can’t wait. It’s not often that my husband and I are both excited for something, so it’ll be nice to share it with him. 🙂

      Like

  3. I was wondering when I’d see Drizzt’s name pop up. It’s kinda like watching for Sephiroth’s name in Anime circles 😉
    The Husbeast has a couple of the Witcher books and has played through the games. I don’t know if we’ll watch the series. Kinda got burnt out on edgy fantasy shows by the GOT fiasco. We have a tendency to Nope-out somewhere in the second season of most must-see TV series. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hah! I’ve been reading Drizzt for over 20 years so yeah, I’m kinda hooked. 🙂

      I didn’t watch GOT, so maybe that helps? But I also kinda love Henry Cavill, so I might stick it out even if it’s awful. Hahaha.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment