Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge: October 12, 2022

wednesdaybloggingchallenge

The Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge is hosted by Long and Short Reviews.  This week’s topic is: do you buy books new or do you thrift them?

The simple answer to this question is yes.

Longer version: I will get books by any (legal) means necessary.  Library.  Thrift store.  Used book store.  Library sale.  Target.  Amazon.  Kobo.  Independent publishers.  Book of the Month Club.  There’s also a nifty website I’ve found where you can buy and sell your books called Pangobooks.  As well as PaperbackSwap where you can swap your books for the price of postage.

All that aside, I try to thrift/buy used when I can.  Too many books wind up in the trash, which breaks my heart. If you don’t want to keep them or they’ve had something spilled on them, at least recycle!  My second go-to is buying ebooks or borrowing from the library.  In the end, I’ll start with the least expensive options and move up the line until I find the book I’m wanting to read.

10 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge: October 12, 2022

  1. I always try and remember to check out sites like abebooks, worldofbooks or awesomebooks. I buy a lot from ebay as well. I’m hoping to get back to the charity shops in town and browsing their selection again and I get a lot from the library. I’ve very much run out of bookshelf space in my flat.

    Like

Leave a comment