Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge: March 29, 2023

wednesdaybloggingchallenge

The Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge is hosted by Long and Short Reviews.  This week’s topic is: best nonfiction book I’ve read.43C2AE01DA24DD2A757CFD579EB8CF83CBB7CCEAI’m not going to say it’s the absolute best nonfiction book I’ve ever read, but I really did enjoy Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer.  Living in a town with an extremely large LDS population, the subject matter drew my interest immediately.

Despite growing up amongst Mormons, I honestly had no knowledge of their faith aside from a few things I learned from the visiting missionaries a family friend hosted when I was a kid.  The author goes back and forth between laying out the history of the foundation of the church and the murders that were enacted out of misguided faith.  His approach worked for me.  If he’d gone in and said, “Ron and Dan Lafferty murdered their sister-in-law and niece for religious reasons” and left it at that, it wouldn’t have been nearly as compelling.  However, because he traced the roots of the church, explained how fundamentalism took hold, and applied it to the acts of the Lafferty brothers, it all made a dark sort of sense.

Full disclosure: I picked this book up after my daughter and I watched the Hulu series based off the murders and the book.  The show was engaging and well done, however I felt like there was more to know, so I searched out the source material.  Now, I want to go back and rewatch it to see how accurate it was.

Honorable mention: Jesus and John Wayne: How White Evangelicals Corrupted a Faith and Fractured a Nation by Kristen Kobes Du Mez.  This was an informative and eye-opening about white evangelicalism and its ties to politics.

And yes, I do have a bad habit of going down rabbit holes in regards to fundamentalist religions.  Heaven help anyone who decides to check my Netflix and Discovery+ watch histories.

12 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge: March 29, 2023

Leave a comment