Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge: January 24, 2024

wednesdaybloggingchallenge

The Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge is hosted by Long and Short Reviews.  This week’s topic is: languages I’m learning or want to learn.

This is a great topic since I’m obsessed with languages.  There are days when I feel like I can barely speak English but still want to learn all the languages.

In high school, I chose to study German since my grandfather had immigrated from Germany in the early 1900’s.  It’s a tough language, but I honestly gained a greater understanding of English grammar and sentence structure by studying German.

Later, in college, I decided it might be smart to take up Spanish, considering I live in an area with a large community of native Spanish speakers.

When I first discovered Duolingo, I made an attempt to learn Irish.  It did not last long.  Hah.  I do want to go back and try it again eventually, but not now.  However, when Duolingo released their Romanian course, I jumped right on it.  Despite having finished the course, I’m still so confused about the language in general.  I did read somewhere that Romanian is the language closest to the original Latin it comes from.  I want to go back and revisit this one day because I would love to visit Romania one day.

Screenshot 2018-04-09 09.18.00

Right now, I’m back to studying Spanish since the majority of the guys I work with are native speakers.  A good handful of them don’t have much English, so it’d make it easier to communicate with them if I could at least get some of the basics down.  Never mind the co-worker who loves coming in and starting to talk Spanish to me out of nowhere.  He’s just lucky I like him.  Hahaha.

Although, I have to admit… I’m still trying to figure out who thought it was a good idea to give the gato a credit card…2023-09-09 16.32.35

Editing to add my Duolingo profile link since it seems so many of you are using the app.  Friend me here if you like!

6 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge: January 24, 2024

  1. There are so many funny sentences on Duolingo! I screenshot my favourite ones every so often.

    Are you still practicing Romanian?

    Like

    1. Yes! I’ll sometimes just crack up reading them. There was basically a whole story revolving around that cat going to the grocery store to buy his food. 🤣

      Here and there. I have a couple of TV shows and a movie I want to watch, and I also found a Romanian pop artist that I adore named Smiley.

      Like

  2. I’m the same with Irish… but I’m still determined (one day). Right now I’m staying with Spanish and enjoying being able to use a little. Will look for you on Duo… we need a list

    Like

Leave a comment