Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge June 26, 2019

wednesdaybloggingchallenge

The Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge is hosted by Long and Short Reviews.  This week’s topic is: humorous book titles

They say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but what about its title?  Over the years, I’ve run into so many funny titles, some so amusing that I had to pick up the book just because of that.

Gingerbread by Helen Oyeyemi.  Now, this isn’t laugh out loud funny, but it made me laugh because my husband is a redhead and I call him gingerbread all the time.  So, it’s more of an in-joke, but still funny.

On average, the best titles I’ve seen have been on cozy mysteries.  They’re always a funny play on something more serious.  Things like:

On What Grounds by Cleo Coyle (Coffeehouse Mysteries)

The Quiche of Death by M. C. Beaton (Agatha Raisin)

State of the Onion by Julie Hyzy (A White House Chef Mystery)

Knit One, Kill Two by Maggie Sefton (A Knitting Mystery)

Witch Slapped by Dakota Cassidy (Witchless in Seattle)

Then there are these:

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson

Everything from the Hitchhiker’s Guide series: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, The Restaurant at the End of the Universe, Life, The Universe, and Everything, So Long and Thanks for all the Fish, Mostly Harmless, and And Another Thing… all by Douglas Adams (minus the last which was written by Eoin Colfer)

Where’s My Cow by Terry Pratchett (Discworld)

Yeah, I know, none of these are really laugh out loud funny, but they tickle my funny bone.  But then, I’ve been told my sense of humor is a bit broken at best so, your mileage may vary.  What’s on your list this week?  I’m always in the mood for something amusing.

8 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge June 26, 2019

  1. The Hitchiker’s Guide books were very funny. They had moments in them that should have been book titles, too, like that scene where one of the characters creates a whale way up in the atmosphere and then watches it fall to Earth. I remember the whale having some pretty funny thoughts during its brief life.

    My post.

    Like

    1. And the pot of petunias, too. 😀 (And that reminds me of a book I read years ago where a fish falls from the top story of a building and part of the book is from the fish’s POV…)

      Because of this, yesterday I downloaded the audio version of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, narrated by Stephen Frey, and started listening to it. Only three chapters in and had forgotten how ridiculously funny the series was.

      Thanks for visiting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I had to go look up the Jenny Lawson book. Looks like my kind of read. I just finished “How I Found My Pussy and Lost My Mind” by Gina Gershon. It’s an interesting title (and made me think of independently moving body parts) for an interesting book.
    Great list! Will have to check many of them out.

    Like

    1. Jenny Lawson is so funny and so relatable in her struggles. It’s a great book. I still need to read Furiously Happy.

      OMG, now I’m flashing back to that song from the 80’s about having a detachable penis. LOL!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Quiche of Death my now go on my TBR.
    I love the Hitchhiker Books and Terry Pratchett has some great titles.

    Like

Leave a comment