Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge Feb 27, 2019

wednesdaybloggingchallenge

The Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge is hosted by Long and Short Reviews.  This week’s topic is: Fictional worlds I’d rather not visit.

Panem from The Hunger Games trilogy.  Why?  Because I know I wouldn’t be lucky enough to live in one of the ‘good’ districts. I’d be living with Katniss in District 12 and there isn’t any way I’d survive that mess.

The alternate Chicago in Divergent.  While this isn’t nearly as bad as the world Katniss is living in, Tris and Tobias/Four really don’t have it all that easy either.  I would definitely be able to better function in a world like this one, however.

Menzoberranzan, aka the City of Spiders, in Forgotten Realms.  As much as I love Drizzt Do’Urden, sorry honey, you’re making your trips home alone.  In addition to being underground, the number of drow alone would make me run the other direction.  Never mind the giants, ogres, orcs, giants and goddess only knows what else that inhabits this world.

The world depicted in Brian Keene’s The Rising series.  Not just zombies, but intelligent zombies y’all.  No.  Thank.  You.

What about you?  What are some places you might not want to visit?  Let me know. 🙂

18 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge Feb 27, 2019

  1. Dune — it has some great elements but House Harkonnen was gross and drinking recycled body fluids just doesn’t excite me. I am not a fan of all sand and no water; I’d love to ride the sand worms though – talk about an adrenaline rush – but I’d never, ever want to visit the world for real. I’d be afraid I’d get stuck there. no no no.

    Like

  2. Aymee, Except for Divergent and Dune you gave me some work to do to catch up on a few books. Good post. Don’t all plumbing contractors have a Mario?

    Like

    1. Always happy to share the love! I really enjoy R. A. Salvatore’s Forgotten Realms novels. If you pick any of them up, I hope you love them.

      Hahahaha! In all the years I’ve been here, I can’t say we’ve ever had a Mario. 🙂

      Like

    1. You really should. I’m not sure it’s half as good as it’s made out to be, but it’s definitely worth reading. It reminded me of a cross between Shirley Jackson’s short story “The Lottery” and another called “The Most Dangerous Game” (although I can’t remember the author of that one).

      Like

  3. How did I miss you last week?? ::: hangs head in shame ::: … I absolutely agree with your choices. I would add Mordor in LOTR, as well. I promise I won’t wait a week to comment next time.

    Like

    1. I was late to the party last week, so that’s probably why. Got this week’s post written and scheduled today so hopefully I’ll be more on the ball next week. 😀

      Like

Leave a comment