Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge November 20, 2019

wednesdaybloggingchallenge

The Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge is hosted by Long and Short Reviews.  This week’s topic is: things I’m thankful for. 

I’m going to skip the obvious things here today – family, my job, etc. – because I’m sure we’ll be seeing a lot of that over the next week or so.  Plus, I try to make sure they all know every day and not just during the holiday season.

First, my mother-in-law.  Now, I said I wasn’t going to say my family, but this woman deserves a shout out.  Back in April, she selflessly gave my husband a kidney.  Without her, he’d likely still be on dialysis waiting for a donor.  She single-handedly gave him a second chance at life and we’ll forever be in her debt for this.

The ability to write.  Now, I’m not saying I’m any good, but the fact that I’m able to put sentences together and form a somewhat coherent story gives me so many outlets for my stress, anxiety, whatever happens to be bothering me that day.  I’ll never be published, but that’s fine with me.  I’ll let the ones who are good at it make money off it.  Me, I’ll just stay over here in my corner, scribbling, thanks.

On the heels of the above, the writing community I’ve found on LiveJournal.  They’re supportive, give lots of prompts and information, and are always there when you need propping up.  Plus, all of the friends I’ve found on my own personal LJ.  The ones who encourage this madness, bunny me with ideas, and are all around great people. Not sure how I would have gotten through the last three years creatively without them all.

Lastly, the most ridiculous thing I’m thankful for finding this year: my Peloton bike.  We bought it back in June to help my husband with his post-transplant recovery.  What I hadn’t expected was to fall in love with this damn bike that goes nowhere and the community that comes with it.

The instructors are amazing.  Inspirational, supportive, and genuinely nice people.  My favorite is Matt Wilpers, affectionately known as the Baby-Faced Assassin due to his penchant for trying to kill you every ride.  But the one I tend to drift towards when I’m down, don’t want to ride, or feel a serious lack of motivation?  Cody Rigsby.  Cody is funny, over-the-top, and just a lot of fun.  Some of his favorite expressions have become a big part of my vocabulary.  Things like:

“It’s not that deep,” meaning, don’t make more out of it than there is.

“You’ve got twenty seconds to grab some water, grab a towel, and get your life together.”  In other words, you have twenty seconds of recovery before things get real tough again.

“Find your light.”  I think this is self-explanatory and I remind myself of this often.

He’s also very fond of calling you “boo” during the rides which cracks me up.  “I got you, boo!”  “It’s not that deep, boo!”  And, at the end of every ride, “Bye, boo!”  Which is why his followers are called the boo crew.

When I ride with Matt, I cry because I’ve pushed my body so hard, gone so much farther than I’ve expected, that the endorphins overtake me.  When I ride with Cody?  I cry because he’s cracking me up.  Here’s a short video of Cody analyzing Paula Abdul’s song, “Opposites Attract”.  You’re welcome, boo.

14 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge November 20, 2019

  1. That kidney is one heck of a present, and I’m so glad your husband was able to receive it!
    Your Peloton instructors sound like a blast. My Husbeast plans to set up his cycle trainer in the garage so he can keep his biking legs in shape through the winter. I may have to suggest he check out your playlists 🙂

    Like

    1. It really is! And since he had his transplant in April, she gave him a hard time about what he was giving her for Mother’s Day. Hahaha.

      They are a lot of fun and it’s so good for my motivation! Good luck to your husband keeping his legs up to snuff in the winter! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. First off … how do you KNOW you’re not any good at writing? Hmmmm….???? I love seeing your Peleton updates on Facebook. I’m so proud of you for sticking to them!

    Like

    1. Well… how about I know I can’t hold a plot to save my life? 😀

      Thank you though – the support is appreciated! I sometimes worry that my FB friends are tired of seeing them, but it helps keep me accountable, so I keep doing it. Oh, and it gives my mother reason to ask why I’m hanging out with so many strange men. HAHAHA.

      Like

    1. Thanks, we’re forever in her debt. Honestly, I’m just happy having him healthy again.

      Some of them can be extremely tough, but always so worth it.

      Thanks! 🙂

      Like

    1. I know, right? As soon as he found out he needed a transplant, she said, “I’ll do it.” I wish he and I were the same blood type because I would have happily given him one. I mean, I’ve given him 22 years, why not a kidney, too? 🙂 But she really is a great woman. His dad is pretty awesome, too.

      I always liked riding the stationary bikes at the gym, but never had the motivation to stay on long. Having a guided ride helps! And when the instructors are working you hard while distracting you from it, it’s even better. My daughter does that though – she’ll put on a scenic ride and watch TV. Hey, if it gets her active, I’m all for it!

      Like

    1. Thanks! And me, too. It’s always nice to have a way to funnel off your frustrations and worries. Hahaha… that’s a great idea! At least I wouldn’t feel bad about talking about my bike on here then. 😀

      Like

Leave a comment